Pre-Release Review: Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

51kthhj-xpl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Release date: July 26, 2016

Synopsis from Goodreads:

“Six responsible adults. Three cute kids. One small dog. It’s just a normal weekend. What could possibly go wrong?

Sam and Clementine have a wonderful, albeit, busy life: they have two little girls, Sam has just started a new dream job, and Clementine, a cellist, is busy preparing for the audition of a lifetime. If there’s anything they can count on, it’s each other.

Clementine and Erika are each other’s oldest friends. A single look between them can convey an entire conversation. But theirs is a complicated relationship, so when Erika mentions a last minute invitation to a barbecue with her neighbors, Tiffany and Vid, Clementine and Sam don’t hesitate. Having Tiffany and Vid’s larger than life personalities there will be a welcome respite.

Two months later, it won’t stop raining, and Clementine and Sam can’t stop asking themselves the question: What if we hadn’t gone?

In Truly Madly Guilty, Liane Moriarty takes on the foundations of our lives: marriage, sex, parenthood, and friendship. She shows how guilt can expose the fault lines in the most seemingly strong relationships, how what we don’t say can be more powerful than what we do, and how sometimes it is the most innocent of moments that can do the greatest harm.”

My thoughts: 

This review was originally published on Goodreads quite early, but since the release date is getting closer, I decided to re-post it here.

Liane Moriarty’s new book Truly Madly Guilty tells the story of a barbecue gone awry and its impacts on the relationships of the party guests. The book’s tagline is “What if we hadn’t gone?” I won’t say much more about the plot because I don’t want to spoil it (the suspense of wondering just what went wrong is what drives the book), but it follows Moriarty’s usual style of revealing tidbits of information through different times and perspectives.

I really enjoyed getting to the heart of what happened, and I wasn’t expecting several elements of the plot. I didn’t think Harry would play a real role, and I teared up when I read his chapter. I also thought the barbecue involved adultery in some way, so the actual crisis was surprising. I will say that I’d hoped the dog would play a bigger role because, well, dog! Still, I thought the story was compelling and interesting and definitely worth a read.

I’ve loved all of Moriarty’s books, and this one was no exception. I was thrilled to win a copy through a Goodreads giveaway because 1) I never win and 2) I was considering pre-ordering this book as soon as I saw it was coming out. I would recommend this book to anyone who has enjoyed the author’s other books, as well as anyone interested in a suspenseful book about relationships and almost-ordinary events. It was a great read and perfect for summer!

*ARC received from the publisher via Goodreads Giveaways.

Leave a Reply

