Review: The Obsession by Nora Roberts

61jlu-d4iml-_sx328_bo1204203200_

The Obsession by Nora Roberts

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

Naomi Bowes lost her innocence the night she followed her father into the woods. In freeing the girl trapped in the root cellar, Naomi revealed the horrible extent of her father’s crimes and made him infamous.

Now a successful photographer living under the name Naomi Carson, she has found a place that calls to her, thousands of miles away from everything she’s ever known. Naomi wants to embrace the solitude, but the residents of Sunrise Cove keep forcing her to open up—especially the determined Xander Keaton.

Naomi can feel her defenses failing, and knows that the connection her new life offers is something she’s always secretly craved. But as she’s learned time and again, her past is never more than a nightmare away.”

My thoughts:

This book took me by surprise. The first part was clearly suspenseful with no romance, and I loved it. The next part seemed like it was all romance, with no suspense at all. I liked most of that, too. It wasn’t until the romance and the suspense came together for me, though, that I was really drawn into the book. That, for me, was where the story took off. I wish there had been suspense throughout, rather than dividing it up into a full segment of romance that left me wondering why there had even been suspense at all.

Naomi seemed to be a little too hung up on her connection to her father, especially after so much time had passed. I’m not saying she should have just pushed it aside and moved on, because how could she, really? Still, hiding parts of herself didn’t seem to go all that well and certainly seemed very lonely. I liked Xander for the most part. I thought he was a strong hero without being too overbearing, but I thought their relationship did move a little faster than was believable. I also liked Mason and the uncles, and I would have liked to see them a little more.

The entirety of this book felt well-crafted and thoughtful. I especially loved Tag and the important role he played in the story. (And really, even if all he did was look cute and she’d written about it, wouldn’t that be important enough?) Every story should have a great dog.

I gave this book four stars because it was a well-written romantic suspense that had enough of each element to be satisfying. I do wish, though, that the author would have gotten to the later suspense plot line quicker rather than spending so much time focusing on house renovations, photography, and pure romance.

Leave a Reply

