Review: Get Lucky by Lila Monroe

51og2ydpeal-_sx318_bo1204203200_

Get Lucky by Lila Monroe

Rating: ✮✮✮

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Synopsis:

Romance writer Julia Stevens is in Las Vegas for a romance writers convention, and divorce attorney Nate Wexler is staying in the same hotel for his friend’s bachelor party and wedding. They initially clash, but when they wake up in bed with each other and no memory of how they got to be there, they must follow the clues they find from the night before to figure out just what happened.

My thoughts:

Get Lucky was free with Kindle Unlimited, and since I’ve been on a romance kick lately, I thought I’d give it a try. I had mixed feelings about it, but if you can suspend your disbelief at the breakneck speed at which these two people decide they’re meant for each other, it’s not bad.

Julia and her friends are pretty much what I’d expect romance writers to be. They’re fun and a little out there. I think they were generally pretty likable, and I liked Julia’s free spirit. I liked that she didn’t panic when confronted with a crazy situation. I also liked Nate’s friends, though he wasn’t my favorite. He was kind of a jerk, and he made the age-old assumption that romance readers are just dumb, sad women. That really just rubbed me the wrong way. (Why is it that guys can read the dumbest sci-fi books and play video games all the time and no one cares, but if women read romance, we’re obviously just sad and lonely and stupid?)

The pacing of this was also just crazy to me. The whole book takes place over the course of two days. TWO! And in those two days, these people feel like they belong together? Really? I know romance novels require you to suspend your disbelief and they happen on a really abbreviated timeline, but two days? Come on.

Despite the issues I had, I did enjoy this. It’s not necessarily for everyone, but it was the right price (free with my subscription) and it was quick and fun. I gave it three stars.

 

Leave a Reply

