Review: Hard Tackle by Jessica Ashe

51edthpnb2bl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Hard Tackle: A Bad Boy Sports Romance by Jessica Ashe

Rating: 

Genre: Romance

Synopsis:

A college intern at an image consulting agency is assigned to fix the reputation of a pro-football quarterback by her boss. He knows right away he wants her, but she resists, setting up the story for this new adult steamy romance.

My thoughts:

I mentioned a few days ago that I’ve been on a romance kick lately, and that’s what made me decide to read this book (plus it was available on Kindle Unlimited, and while I’ve still got that subscription, I’ve got to make sure I read enough to make it worthwhile). That said, I kind of regret even starting it, and I wish I’d put it down at the first sign it wasn’t for me.

I don’t like to rate books poorly. Really, I don’t. In part because I know so much work goes into them, and in part because it makes me feel like I’ve wasted my time. Who wants that? Not me. But sometimes, I just can’t help but do it. This was one of those times.

This book is purportedly a romance, and it stars an American football player. My two big problems were that 1) there really isn’t romance as much as there’s sex and 2) the terminology was all wrong for American football. I noticed that early on and it drove me crazy throughout. To me, this book exemplifies everything I’ve hated about most new adult books I’ve read. This book stars shallow characters who are obsessed with sex and act less like humans and more like two-dimensional paper dolls… who are obsessed with sex. I mean, really.

This book can hardly be classified as a romance. Sure, it ends up with people being “in love,” but that really doesn’t mean much when all we’ve seen is sex, and not even romantic sex at that. How does he decide he’s in love with her? He doesn’t even want to sleep with anyone else. Cue eye roll. Is that appealing to anyone out there? Anyone?

There wasn’t really anything I liked about this book to be honest. The concept was good, I guess, but it went downhill very early on (like first chapter early). Maybe this book is perfect for someone, but that someone is definitely not me, and I can’t recommend it.

Leave a Reply

