Review: He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker

5171maurnal-_sx329_bo1204203200_

He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Synopsis: 

When Maggie’s best friend is found dead of an apparent suicide in her apartment, she heads to New York to handle the estate. While she’s there, though, she suspects that Celine’s death wasn’t a suicide at all and works to uncover the truth about her death. After asking questions and getting too close to the truth, Maggie is left with one final question: Will he be her ruin, too?

My thoughts:

I loved reading this thriller. So much so that I stayed up until after 3 a.m. to finish it (which probably wasn’t the right call because I woke up way too late again). He Will Be My Ruin is packed with all the key elements of a thriller: nosy neighbors, secrets, lies, and several would-be suspects, all seeming to be equally likely to be guilty. (I even suspected people that definitely had nothing to do with the murder, but that could have been because I read it in one marathon reading session and was ready to suspect everyone.)

What I loved about this was that I was still undecided on who the killer was (or even if there was a killer) right through the end. I hate reading something that’s supposed to be a thriller and being able to guess the ending early on, so this was great! For me, this book was all about the plot. The characters were interesting enough, though I wasn’t particularly attached to any of them, but what I really loved was feeling like I could be surprised by this book.

I decided to give this book four stars. I really enjoyed it, but I’m not sure I can say it’s a favorite. I think having characters I loved would have bumped it up to five, but I’m pleased enough with the plot that I’d recommend it.

Leave a Reply

