Review: Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning

514oudvo4zl

Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Genre: Historical Romance/Fantasy

Review:

I love time travel fiction, especially when the main character travels into the past. Outlander has been one of my favorite book (and TV) series and it really got me into the whole Scot thing. I’ve wanted to read this book ever since I read Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series and loved it, and I wasn’t disappointed.

This book is part fantasy (hello, time travel and faeries) and part historical romance. It stars Hawk, a sixteenth-century Scot who appears to be irresistible to women and Adrienne, a twentieth-century woman who has sworn off of “beautiful men.” So, of course, they get pitted together in this time travel romance.

The romance itself is good, but there are some issues, at least for me. First, I really hate the “love at first sight” cliché. Sure, I believe people can be attracted at first sight, and I understand that romance novels have a limited time for their characters to fall in love, but I have trouble believing that either of these characters could be so overwhelmed by the other that they would fall in love immediately. Second, even though our heroine is supposed to hate beautiful men, I felt like she was being stubborn and immature for much of the book (and I think the hero would agree). It got to be a little annoying after a while.

That said, I felt that the book overcame these issues. I really loved the faeries, and I especially loved the reason why Adrienne was transported back in time. It was a little funny and I can imagine reacting much worse in that situation.

I debated whether to give this book a three or four star rating because I did have some issues with it, but I landed on four because I really enjoyed reading it overall, and I was excited to learn that there are more books in this series. I recommend this if you enjoy time travel romances.

Leave a Reply

