New On My Shelf 8/27-9/2

Last week, I managed to forget to add a couple of new books I received, but that doesn’t mean I’m not excited about them! Lately I’ve been wondering if I can have too much of a good thing (books) because I’m not getting to many of my new books quickly enough, but I’ve decided that doesn’t matter too much — I love books and many of them will be able to wait (especially the audio books). So, of course, I’ve got a new list of books for this week that I’m excited about!

From NetGalley:

cover87350-medium Clearly, I’m on a historical romance spree this week. This is the first book in Julia Kelly’s “Governess” series. I’ve already reviewed this book, so check out my review!

 

cover92591-medium This is (probably unsurprisingly given the title) the second book in Julia Kelly’s “Governess” series. I’ll be getting to this soon, but I’m hopeful that it will be as enjoyable as the first book.

cover95549-medium Kate Noble’s historical romance about a doctor and his until-now platonic friend seems like an interesting take on the genre and I’m looking forward to reading it.

cover86460-medium Set in 1850s Ireland, the publisher’s blurb says this book is full of tension, so I’m definitely looking forward to reading it!

cover88836-medium This book is a thriller about a woman who has a freak accident on a rafting expedition and ends up separated from her group. It sounds really different from the other books I’m reading, so I’m looking forward to this change of pace.

cover95520-medium This is a compilation of Lyndsay Faye’s new Sherlock Holmes stories and I’m dying to read it.

cover91503-medium This is a humorous collection of essays, which should be a really nice change of pace for me.

cover93704-medium This series is called “The Highland Bookshop Mystery Series.” Need I say more?

From Penguin First to Read:

51e2bzordxal-_sx308_bo1204203200_ Hag-Seed is Margaret Atwood’s retelling of Shakespeare’s play, The Tempest. I’ll probably read the play first (I think I did years ago, but I don’t remember it at all), but I’m very excited about this one.

512w0bt2boml-_sx325_bo1204203200_ This book may not come out until October, but I’ve already read so many great things about it that I’m dying to read it as soon as possible. I’ve enjoyed most of what I’ve read from Picoult, so I have high hopes for this.

51tafno7snl-_sx331_bo1204203200_ Two words: Lady Sherlock. Sherlock Holmes is reimagined as a woman in this book, and I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to read it.

E-books:

5148emgwtcl Not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m working on reading through the backlist of Pulitzer prize winners, both in fiction and nonfiction. This non-fiction winner happened to be on sale for $0.99, so how could I pass it up?

51zuqtlftdl Chernow’s Washington: A Life is similar to The Making of the President: 1960 in that it, too, is a Pulitzer prize winner, but completely dissimilar in its pricing. I’m set to read this in September and October with a group and had to purchase it at its unfortunately high retail price. I could have gotten a used paper copy cheaper, but after making that mistake with the 900+ page MLK Jr. book I’m currently reading, I thought I’d stick with the e-book.

That’s it for me this week. What’s new on your shelf?

Leave a Reply

