Review: The Sound of Glass by Karen White

51inzknm4kl-_sx330_bo1204203200_

The Sound of Glass by Karen White

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Review:

This book features three strong women whose lives intersect through the course of the book. First, there’s Edith, who really isn’t who I would consider the main character, even though we do meet her first. She’s from the past and isn’t living through the majority of the book, but she drives much of what happens. Then there’s Merritt, who moves from Maine to South Carolina after her husband dies because she (through his estate) inherits his grandmother Edith’s house. She’s got a lot of issues, but whether she knows it or not, she’s strong and capable of handling everything that comes up. Then, finally, there’s Merritt’s step-mother Loralee. They’ve never gotten along, but when Loralee and Merritt’s younger brother Owen (whom she’s never met) show up at her new doorstep, she can’t bring herself to turn them away.

The lives of these three women come together to form a story filled with humor, mystery, and heartbreak. As we learn more about each of them, it’s impossible not to feel connected to them in one way or another. I especially enjoyed seeing Merritt’s character grow and change as she created a new life for herself in South Carolina. That said, I felt that I could have read an entire book about Edith, too. She was so interesting and I loved her character so much.

The plot was interesting if a little predictable, and for me it had enough facets to it to stay interesting throughout. I’m not sure how realistic a lot of it was, but it didn’t really matter to me since it all came together so well. I don’t want to say too much because it could easily spoil the story to reveal any details, but since the very first chapter mentions the plane crash, I will say that I was surprised at how that part of the plot was resolved. I was glad to get an answer since it was brought up so early, but I didn’t expect it to go where it did.

I listened to The Sound of Glass as an audiobook, which can always impact my feelings about a book. I really enjoyed the narrator in this book, which helped bring the characters to life for me. She did such a good job at giving each character his or her own personality through voice, and I’m not sure I would have done so well reading it on my own.

I would recommend reading or listening to this book if you enjoy women’s fiction, especially Southern women’s fiction. It was entertaining and emotionally satisfying. This was my first book by Karen White, and I doubt it will be my last. I give it four stars.

One thought on “Review: The Sound of Glass by Karen White

Leave a Reply

