Pre-Release Review: We Need a Little Christmas by Sierra Donovan

cover94571-medium

We Need a Little Christmas by Sierra Donovan

Rating: ✮✮

Genre: Romance

Release Date: September 27, 2016

Review:

I love Christmas, and even though it’s still way, way too early for most things Christmas, I’m always up for holiday-themed books. Clearly, the publishing industry agrees, since many of these are released in early fall. This book, which seems like it would be centered on the holidays, really is more of a “winter” book than a holiday one. It’s also not really what I would consider a romance, and because of the disconnect between what I thought it would be and what it is, I didn’t enjoy it as much as I’d hoped.

Liv and Scotty are set up to come together for a heartwarming holiday romance, but for me, it never really worked. First of all, Scotty’s involvement in the story seemed really contrived. He doesn’t seem to have any particularly close relationship with Liv or her family, with the exception of her late grandmother, and yet he gets called in to help with some frequency. Second, to me, they had no chemistry, and the romance isn’t shown to us at all. We’re told the characters are attracted to each other, but it doesn’t really come across as genuine.

On top of that, that majority of the story is about Liv and her family cleaning out her late grandmother’s home. It’s sad on the one hand, but also completely flat on the other. It may just be my personal experience, but these people seemed remarkably put together for just having lost someone they loved. Not even waiting a week after the memorial service, at Christmas, to clean out her house? Seems unreasonably quick to me. Plus, death and loss don’t inspire me to see or feel romance, so it’s a little weird that this is the basis of the story.

This book wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t for me. I didn’t like that Christmas took a backseat to a more depressing storyline (especially with Christmas being in the title) and I didn’t like the paltry amount of romance the book contained. I gave it two stars.

*ARC from Zebra via NetGalley

Leave a Reply

