Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

512d1dojv0l

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

Genre: YA Fantasy/Contemporary

Review:

I’ve had this on my Kindle for years, but it wasn’t until I saw the movie preview for A Monster Calls that I really got interested in finally reading it. First of all, I loved everything about this book. It had such an interesting concept and was totally not what I was expecting. It’s quick, but I wouldn’t exactly call it light (it made me cry A LOT). It’s short, and it’s unique.

Basically, Conor O’Malley is a thirteen-year-old boy whose mother is very sick, and one day, a yew tree actually comes to life outside of his window! The tree is the monster of the title, and while I had expected there to be some kind of creepy or scary element from a monster, mostly this one was benevolent. This surprised me because the version I have has a cover that makes the monster look quite scary, and this is one of the reasons I’d put it off for so long.

Conor’s story is heartbreaking, and I can’t imagine being in his position. I don’t want to spoil the book, so I won’t say more about what actually happens, but by the end (and also sooner), I was just so sad for him for so many reasons. I really liked the monster, and I liked how everything came together in a way that made sense.

Above all, this is a book about grief and loss, so if those themes aren’t something you want to read about, this is a good one to skip. If you’re okay having a good cry, though, and you want to read an excellent book, definitely give this a read. I gave it five stars and would recommend it. I’m also very excited to see the movie to see if it does the story justice, and I can’t wait until it comes out.

Leave a Reply

