New On My Shelf: January 2017

It’s been a while since I’ve done a New On My Shelf post, and while I’m sure I’ll continue acquiring books through the rest of the month, I thought I’d update with some of the books I’ve gotten recently. I’m getting back into the swing of things and reading consistently, so I’m starting to have hope that I’ll make it through my ever-growing TBR pile and get to most of these very soon!

From NetGalley

cover103911-medium When I was younger, I thought (without any basis for thinking it) that Debbie Macomber and Nora Roberts were overrated and must not be worth reading because they published so many books. Now, though, I really look forward to either of them releasing new books, and I’m thrilled to be able to read this one, due to come out in March. In addition to being excited about the story, I love the springy cover, especially as I sit here looking at the several inches of snow still covering my lawn.

cover101181-medium On a different track entirely is this April release from Elizabeth Strout. I read Olive Kitteridge and really enjoyed it, and I’m hoping this is just as much of a win for me. A bonus is that it’s not too long (exactly right for me right now) and is (like Olive Kitteridge) written as a series of connected stories that tell one bigger tale. I can’t wait to get started!

cover96287-medium Again, totally different from the other books! I’ve been hearing great things about Vic James’s debut YA fantasy coming in February. The cover is reminiscent of gothic literature and I love it, but more importantly, the story sounds unique and really interesting! This is book one of a trilogy, and I have high hopes for it.

cover101882-medium I admit to not loving Kostova’s The Historian, perhaps because it was about vampires but not full of action, but I’m excited to read her upcoming (due in April) The Shadow Land. It’s a gothic historical novel set in Bulgaria, which is an interesting enough setting for me that I’m ready to jump into the world she describes.

Physical

51pvbs0i1fl-_sx327_bo1204203200_ This book was a Christmas present from my Secret Santa. I’ve heard mixed reviews, but also a lot of great things, about it. I’m looking forward to finally getting to read it after months of debating whether to give it a try.

51xcu0thsvl This was another Secret Santa gift, and while it’s been many years since I’ve read anything by Mitch Albom, I’ve always enjoyed his work. I like that it’s quick, but still makes me think and reflect. I’m hoping the same can be said for this book.

41kqzqiblzl-_sx330_bo1204203200_ This was my December Book of the Month Club pick, a thriller dealing with a mysterious death in the gymnastics community. I’m getting back into a thriller type of mindset, so I expect that I’ll be reading this one soon.

51vzovzchyl-_sx331_bo1204203200_ My January BotM Club pick is a historical novel set in New York that the publisher’s blurb describes as “a love letter to city life.” I’ve had mixed feelings about New York City since the first time I visited, and I’m really interested to read this one to see the city from Lillian Boxfish’s POV.

518f2bgo8wyl-_sx312_bo1204203200_ I’ve read all of Gillian Flynn’s novels, but I’d never been tempted to spend money to read her Edgar Award-winning short story The Grownup. Thanks to a surprise gift from BotM Club (if you haven’t heard of this and you like reading, I do recommend looking into it!), I’ve got a hardcover copy just waiting to be read. I’ll probably read and review this for next week.

51xlcyclu9l-_sx323_bo1204203200_ I’ve been looking forward to reading Zadie Smith’s Swing Time since I first read the description, and when I had the opportunity to add it to my BotM Club box for January, I jumped on it. It’s about dancing and friendship and music,taking place in both London and West Africa, and I’m so excited to get started reading.

E-books

51o1si8z4sl As soon as I saw the trailer for this movie, I knew I wanted to see it, and after finding out that it was based on a book (and of course a true story), I had to have the book. I’m hoping to read this before seeing the film, but we’ll see how the timing works out.

Audiobooks

51jcutsduzl-_sx327_bo1204203200_ I love author-narrated memoirs, and while I’ve stopped watched The Daily Show, in part because of a DVR malfunction, I’ve always appreciated Trevor Noah’s unique perspective. I can’t wait to read/listen to his story.

518k3i-ncil-_sx324_bo1204203200_ On a similar but also totally different track is Anna Kendrick’s memoir/essay collection, Scrappy Little Nobody. I enjoy Kendrick’s acting and have been interested in reading her book since its release. She narrates the book herself, and I’m interested to hear her story.

That’s it for me — what’s new on your shelf?

 

Leave a Reply

