Review: The Twilight Wife by A.J. Banner

cover94455-medium

The Twilight Wife by A.J. Banner

Rating: ✮✮✮

Genre: Thriller

Review:

Don’t let my three-star review fool you: I did enjoy this book. For all its faults, The Twilight Wife was an engrossing story and a very quick read, both important for a thriller. So why only three stars?

First of all, despite my feeling that this was a great story with mysteries to be uncovered, I kind of felt like I’d read it before. Specifically, I felt like I was re-reading S.J. Watson’s Before I Go To Sleep. And I felt this way from the very beginning. Maybe I’m just convinced that any book about a wife losing her memory is basically the same. I don’t know. In any case, the similarities were definitely there and hard to overlook, especially because it made some of the key plot points a little predictable for me.

Second, through much of the book, Kyra’s memory loss/amnesia situation just didn’t feel very genuine to me. Frequently, Jacob would get annoyed with her for forgetting things they’d already discussed, but every time she remembered something on her own, it seemed to stick with her. Maybe it was the medication stopping her from making new memories, but it still struck me as odd that she’d remember and fixate on certain things while failing to remember actually going somewhere just a week before.

That said, I really did enjoy reading this, and while I definitely felt the lack of originality in overall concept was an issue, I still wasn’t entirely sure exactly what happened. The story drew me in right away and I wanted to get to the bottom of Kyra’s accident and memory loss. I wanted to figure out what the deal was with the different men she had memories of and why she had lost only four years (a weirdly specific amount of time) of memories. These questions kept me reading and I finished the book in two days’ worth of short(ish) reading sessions.

So, would I recommend reading this? Well, that depends. If you’ve never read Before I Go To Sleep or you have but you don’t really remember it, then definitely go for it! It’s a great book if you don’t have another similar book in mind to compare it to. If you have read it, though, The Twilight Wife might be a little too predictable for you, and unless you’re really good at overlooking predictability in a thriller, I’d skip it.

*ARC from Touchstone via NetGalley

Leave a Reply

