Welcome, February!

It’s hard to believe that the first month of 2017 is already over and that it’s time to welcome in February. While it may be the shortest month of the year, I’ve got some big reading plans to tackle, not least of which is finally finishing the massive first volume of Taylor Branch’s “America in the King Years” trilogy, which I’ve been working on since August.

February means two things to me in terms of reading themes, especially this year. First, it’s the month for romance, those sappy books that remind you of the joy and excitement of new relationships. I’ll be reading and reviewing some of those, but don’t worry. They won’t be the majority of what’s coming for the month. I’ve got books from many genres coming up, and they’ll all be featured here.

Second, though, and more importantly, it’s Black History Month. In a time when racial tensions seem to be running particularly high, I think it’s worth dedicating a good portion of my reading energy to reading books by or about people of color. This is, of course, a goal for the year for me, but I’m going to pay special attention to it this month in particular. So far, that means I’m planning on finishing Parting the Waters: Martin Luther King and the Civil Rights Movement 1954-63, as well as finally reading The Color Purple and Their Eyes Were Watching God. I don’t want to get too ambitious, since these will take a fair amount of time in addition to other reading, but I’d also love to get to Swing Time and Behold the DreamersThe Underground Railroad is also on my list, but I have a feeling that it will get pushed back until March, though it will of course depend on how much reading I manage to do.

Do you have any special monthly reading goals? I’d love to hear about them!

 

Leave a Reply

