Review: The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

51xcu0thsvl

The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Genre: Inspirational

Review: 

I don’t typically read inspirational fiction because it’s just not my thing, but in high school, we read one of Mitch Albom’s books for my creative writing class and I enjoyed it. So, as a result, I’ve picked up his books from time to time ever since. This one seemed like it was going to be a little different from both Tuesdays with Morrie and The Five People You Meet in Heaven, so I was excited to finally get to it.

It was different, though it was still a lot sadder than I’d expected. Basically, Albom asks us to think about why our days are limited. Why do we need to have such a short time to be alive? Why do we have to say goodbye to our loved ones? This is all, of course, while meeting Father Time and two humans in particular, aside from FT’s own family.

These are definitely questions I’m sure we’ve all grappled with from time to time, wishing we could have endless days to spend with the people we care about. It was interesting to see each of the characters get to the answer in their own way, while all discovering just what made life worth living for them.

Don’t get me wrong. This was a kind of sad process, though it didn’t always seem like it at the beginning, and while there are definite moments of hope and happiness, the overall feeling definitely isn’t cheerful. But I still really enjoyed reading The Time Keeper. It made me think, and it showed me some new perspectives on time and on life. And isn’t that really why you read inspirational fiction, anyway? It’s not exactly a mood-lifter, but it does help you look at something from a new angle, whether that something is life, death, time, or another subject entirely.

This one is a quick read, and I did enjoy it, though I wouldn’t call it a favorite. It isn’t overly religious and does focus on a mythical character, so if that would hold you back, I wouldn’t worry too much. It’s a good story told in an interesting way, and it just might make you think about how you spend your time. I gave it four stars.

Leave a Reply

