Currently Reading….

I’ve been slow at posting reviews lately, but that’s in part because I’m reading a lot of different books rather than focusing on one at a time. I’m going to try to buckle down and finish more books, but for now, here’s a list of what I’m currently reading.


518k3i-ncil-_sx324_bo1204203200_ My current audiobook, Anna Kendrick’s Scrappy Little Nobody, which I haven’t made a ton of progress on, but which I hope to get through in the next week or two. I’ve liked Kendrick in movies and am looking forward to hearing more about her.

51o1si8z4sl This is what I’m most focused on right now. I still haven’t seen the movie, but I always prefer reading the book first, anyway, even though I suspect the two are quite different in this case (unless the movie spends a lot of time giving biographical background on the characters).

51zuqtlftdl I’ve been slowly making my way through Ron Chernow’s Washington: A Life since early fall, and while I enjoy reading it, I never make it through more than a chapter in one sitting. I’m hoping to change that once I finish my other non-fiction reads, as I do have many, many other books to read and I hate leaving something unfinished.

cover86179-medium This is a NetGalley read that I’m super behind on (though, to be fair, I did get approved for it after the publication date to begin with). It’s about Cameroonian immigrants in New York right around the time of the 2008 financial crisis, and I’ve been looking forward to it for so long. I’m making slow progress on it, in part because I’ve been incredibly busy with life lately and in part because, even though it’s easy to switch between books in my Kindle app, I just never do. I’m hoping to finish this one very soon, though, and I’ll let you know how it is!

51abemwqtzl One of my goals for this year is to catch up on all the Shakespeare I’ve never read (so mostly comedies and romances, with a few of the histories and tragedies thrown in). I’ve been working on Twelfth Night for a while even though it’s a quick play to get through because I’ve just been ignoring it. Hopefully I’ll finish soon (though it’s unlikely I’ll post a review, because what can I add to the discussion about Shakespeare in a short blog post?).


Even with all of these in progress, I think there’s a good chance I’ll end up starting something else (I just got an early copy of Julie James’s The Thing About Love, plus I have a few NetGalley books that are being released this month I’d love to get to sooner rather than later). One of these days, maybe I’ll manage to focus on just one book at a time. Until then, I’ll keep enjoying the variety and focus on enjoying myself while I read, rather than rushing through just to get reviews posted more quickly. Thanks for sticking with me!

 

Leave a Reply

